15
Sep
07

Wooden Form and Photoshoot

Wooden Sculpture Shape in Progress

I had an opportunity to go down to Joel Tiegreen’s photography studio after he had installed some tile in an area of our house that had red oil paint footprints.  The first image is a wooden shape that I am carving for a friend, clothing designer Philip Sawyer.  The second shot is of Shannon’s orange painting.  Joel & I both thought it would look really good in his studio.  We took two different approaches to lighting these pieces.  My idea was to get very dark darks, and very light lights.  I am not a photographer, but I do enjoy the whole process and we had a great time getting these shots.  Joel took both of these photo’s.  Thanks Joel!

Shannon White Orange Painting

4 Responses to “Wooden Form and Photoshoot”


  1. September 16, 2007 at 9:38 pm

    Oh that acrylic display sets the piece apart, did you acquire that display item from http://www.DisplayDirect.com ? The carved piece is so tactile and organic. It so reminds me of landscaping one might see in southeastern Kansas.

    Shannon’s painting takes on a new dimension with the dramatic lighting. Is there a price for it? How would you ship it to a buyer interested in purchasing? The colors are so swirling and engaging.

  2. November 5, 2007 at 7:53 pm

    What a gorgeous place to visit. Thank you for finding your way to my blog and thereby introducing me to yours.

  3. November 5, 2007 at 11:25 pm

    Thank you Deborah! I truly enjoyed viewing your work on your site. I would love to share your work with others with your approval. Also I would invite you to submit a piece to a postcard show with the deadline this weekend! Check out http://www.balmorg.wordpress.com and let me know if you are interested and I will get you all the details. The show opening is the 14th. – darin p.s.- anyone who likes martin puryear has good aesthetics! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Darin White

Flickr Photos

WOF

WOF

Graduation, Mother's Day and Weddings all happening right now! These boards make great gifts. This new cherry wood serving board with bronze inlay and spice indention is ready ship to a client in Boston. Board is styled by Shannon of @whiteartstudio and @

More Photos

Pages

September 2007
M T W T F S S
    Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

