01
Oct
07

Heart Injection – Work in Progress

My wife Shannon and I entered an art show at the Lawrence Art Center Healing Through the Arts. As ironic as it is, the night we were supposed to turn in the work (Friday) our son Caden had a fever and had to be admitted to Children’s Mercy Hospital. Here is a piece that I was working on for the show. Hopefully we will still make it into the show. Below is my Heart Injection carved from cedar wood, that I am working on based on issues surround my son’s Nueroblastoma cancer.


Darin M. White Copyright 2007 All Rights Reserved

Below are pics of Shannon and Caden’s art gowns
Wearing the Cancer Experience progressHealers Robe progressAggression & Problem Solving C

4 Responses to “Heart Injection – Work in Progress”


  1. 1 ivdanu
    October 3, 2007 at 6:56 am

    Maybe this is an inappropiate comment… in which case I appologize, but I cannot help thinking at vampires when seeing your heart sculpture… You know, the short, pointed stake Dracula’s enemies used to kill him (or other vampires) with? And the cross on it only make stronger the anti-vampire idea… Probably totally contrary to your intention?

    I really don’t want to upset you, knowing from experience what having someone close sick could mean… But if I see that in your heart, others could also… I hope your dear one will get better…

    danu

  2. October 3, 2007 at 7:35 am

    danu, i would have never thought about it. i appreciate you point this out. i always am interested to know what people see in my work, whether intended or not. it is very insiteful.

    here is some more information, as it was only partially given to the viewer at this time. this piece is in progress, i was carving a good portion of it in my son’s hospital room. what you are not seeing is the syringe which does not have the protective cap, leaving the needle exposed. the syringe is inserted into this space that you referred to as a cross. while the cross shape was not intended (it is only the outline of the syringe), it is appropriate, as the title will be something to the effect of “Heart Injection – Faith, Hope & Love”. i am planning on wood burning wings into the heart as well and a small flame area. ideas about faith, pain, suffering, sickness, hope, truth, life and overall love. i am still designing the base which is a half circle shape in either copper, wood, acrylic or glass that the heart shape will insert into and will hold in an almost upright position.

  3. 3 thistimenow
    October 8, 2007 at 5:51 am

    Thank you for writing to me on my blog.
    Have you ever listened to Dr. Wayne Dyer.
    He’s helped me the world in a different way these days.
    I just find when I don’t seek anything, it just comes to me.
    My life is gets better and better when I let go and let God.

    Take care and I like your blog.

    Felicia

  4. October 17, 2007 at 11:03 am

    i see where you were going with this previously on your blog. we have to be willing to let God do what he wants to do. we should not be the one in control. thanks for sharing. i have not heard of Dr. Dyer. it is awesome to view the world from a paradigm shift and see that God is still in control no matter how you look at the world.


Leave a Reply

Darin White

Flickr Photos

Pages

October 2007
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

