09
Nov
07

Wooden Form Carved Sculpture – More Images

I finally had some time to take some additional pictures of this wooden form sculpture that was commissioned by friends clothing designer Philip Sawyer and his wife Anh Vu Sawyer who is the author of Song of Saigon.  This piece was a labor of love and learning.  It started out as a silver maple tree in the back of my parents yard.  When they had it cut down, I requested a few of the cross cut pieces of the stump.  I had in mind a specific sculpture that I wanted to use it for that has tusk shapes emerging from this half round form.  A couple of years later I started carving on this piece only to find that it was too small proportionally to the tusk shapes and so I set it to the side.  Philip and Anh stopped by to visit on their way back to Colorado and Shannon showed them this partially carved piece, having a flat top.  Both Anh and Philip were drawn to the piece, and Anh was ready to walk out the door with it.  Philip thought that it would be nice to have it carved out into some type of bowl type shape.  Anh consented to leave it with me and this is what I came up with after some thought and laboring.  I wanted to work with the natural large crack that had occurred during drying, and I enjoyed the process of designing these organic shapes that followed the grain sometimes, the crack and the way that I felt made the shape flow.  I had the pleasure of purchasing two new Swiss Made carving tools to use on this piece.  I love tools!  The piece was produced with mainly chisels, however I did get the rough outer texture of the form with a rough angle grinder attachment and the smooth finish on the top surface with a random orbital sander. 

Wooden Form View 2

Wooden Form View 3

Wooden Form View 5

Wooden Form View 4

Wooden Form View 6

Wooden Form View 7

Wooden Form View 1

Other work of mine is viewable at www.darinwhite.com.

0 Responses to “Wooden Form Carved Sculpture – More Images”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Darin White

Flickr Photos

DWhitey's-March-Madness-2017-FB-Header

DWhitey's-March-Madness-2017-Square



More Photos

Pages

November 2007
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

