Archive for September 16th, 2012

16
Sep
12

Where were you? Summer. Life. Art. Press. New Solo Exhibition and invitation. Exhibition Catalog. Rewards.

It has been a while since I have given an update. I have been a tad bit busy. Still, I should have snuck one in here or there. Well, finally, here we are.


White family in Bear Heart T-Shirts.

Once I got back from NY, I started putting together rewards. I got the Bear Heart t-shirts together and off to the people who requested this reward as well as those who opted for the Seed packet and thank you note. This summer, my wife Shannon, had a fabulous idea of making an eatable landscaping area and using the Overflow barn/silo as the centerpiece. So to do this, I have to back up and let you know that I received the Overflow sculpture back from NY in one piece. The Bear Heart nestled safely inside. I’ll come back to the eatable landscape in a minute.


Beart Heart T-Shirts and Seed packets at the post office.

Leaving Brooklyn, come again.

The work Overflow arrives back from New York, mostly safe.

Many people were interested to know what happened to the 1000 lbs of corn (I tried to get 3000 really I did) after the exhibition. Being NY, and logistic nightmare, I thought I could easily offer the corn to a zoo for their animals. I talked to the Bronx Zoo and many others they referred, to no avail. In the meantime I was learning the challenge of donating anything in NY. I finally was able to gift the leftover wood that was reusable to someone in the neighborhood. Thankfully they also took the corn and were able to give it to friends to feed birds.

So, back to this summer. I spent a lot of time working on trying to pay the bills. Welcome to life. In addition to this, our kids, two and eleven have similar personalities as their parents and need to be doing something at all times. Which is a lot of fun. So, we had fun… lots. Shannon got her wish of having an eatable landscape area. We set up the Overflow barn our back yard. We created a berm on each side of a rock pathway leading to one of the structures openings. And then… we (we in this case means my wife and kids, as I have a black thumb) planted the organic corn. What a wonderful experience to watch this corn grow. We are still harvesting corn despite the drought all around the country. We had a small enough section to keep in watered over our crazy hot Summer.

The organic corn begins to grow.


The eatable garden area and corn in process.

When I got back from New York the Lawrence Journal World (our local paper) wrote a very nice article on the exhibition. Later on this summer I was offered a solo exhibition as an alumni at The University of Kansas by artist and Memorial Unions Gallery curator Gina Adams. The show opened this last Monday Sept. 10th and runs till Oct. 5th, 2012 with a reception for Final Fridays on Friday, Sept. 28th from 2-8pm. Please stop by and see the show if you are in the area.

Lawrence Journal World press.

Overflow solo exhibition at the Kansas University SUA Union Gallery, Memorial Unions
Sept. 10th-Oct. 5th, 2012.

Appropriate Attire: Ashes and Burlap was produced in 3-D for this expanded exhibition.

The OVERFLOW exhibition catalogs JUST went to press today! I am breathing a sigh of relief.
It has been a long time coming. Curator and artist Gina Adams wrote the Forward and Samuel W. Kho wrote an Essay! So, in the next couple of weeks, I will get these together send out
an email from Kickstarter about the rewards and start sending them to you. Thank you all so much again for your support. This project happened because you were willing to support an idea and an artist. THANK YOU!

Back cover and front cover of the 32 page Darin M. White: OVERFLOW catalog/book.

Above are a few sample spreads of the exhibition catalog that is off to the press.

If you have questions about your rewards or other thoughts or just want to say hey. Please shoot me an email darin.white – at – gmail – dot – com, or shoot me a message through Kickstarter. I will send you out an invitation to my exhibition and other projects that are worthy. If for some reason you are not interested, just let me know. A few people who had a reward of the Bear Heart T-Shirts and Seed Packets haven’t responded to my Kickstarter email with questions. Please do so, so that I can get your reward out.

I’ll try and write sooner next time, so the updates aren’t so long. Believe it or not, I had to really cut this one down!

Darin

See original post on Kickstarter



Flickr Photos

Pages

September 2012
M T W T F S S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930