09
Oct
07

Caden’s Hope Sterling Necklace

Caden's Hope Sterling Necklace

Our friend Ann who produces a beautiful jewelery line, is offering a necklace especially for our son Caden as a way of helping out with his medical costs.

This is an amazingly sweet gesture, and the jewelery is very well designed and made.  I cannot thank Ann enough for her support in this way and the many other ways that she has helped us. 

Thank you Ann!  Click on the above image or go to the page on her website for more information or click here.


3 Responses to “Caden’s Hope Sterling Necklace”


  1. 1 lashe
    October 18, 2007 at 5:24 am

    In response to your comment on my post “My New Work”:

    Thank you!
    And no, I didn’t cast them – the domes are actually found objects. They are the capsules from capsule toys (little toys from vending machines, also called Gashapon: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gashapon) that I bought while in Japan. Though I have considered casting them, I don’t really have the time before assessment, haha.
    Thanks again – Lydia

  2. October 31, 2007 at 9:49 pm

    it would be a fun project. i believe the domes are injection molded. keep creating! darin

  3. 3 lashe
    November 4, 2007 at 5:11 pm

    In response to your comment on my post “More Purty Pictures”:

    Well yes, actually – (funnily enough I’m finishing off my artist statement for this work today!) – they are about notions of travelling, expectations, experiences and memory. Haha, I might as well quote from the statement!
    “…One object I was intrigued with, was the Gashapon. It is a toy capsule that you buy from a vending machine. You put some money in, turn the knob, and out comes a small plastic capsule containing a toy. Each machine will contain a different series of toys, but the one you receive is random. This has now turned into my metaphor for travel. You know what to expect, you have researched, know what you can do or get while you are away. You know what you are in for, and you develop expectations. But once you are there, once you receive the experience, it is still a surprise, and it is exciting. You don’t really know what you will get out of it.”
    I plan on having ‘brochure pieces’ to explain the prior expectations, as well as ‘happy-snap’ photos to emphasise the idea of travel. I also have a similar set of work to go with this one, which are placed in sushi take-away containers (I’ll do a post about these after assessment).
    And Thankyou 🙂 I’m really enjoying using various materials. And it’s lovely to have a sculptor comment on my work!
    – Lydia


Leave a comment


Flickr Photos

Pages

October 2007
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031